Excerpt #1

Here is the first of a few Saturday Morning Excerpts I’m going to post from Someone to Listen over the coming weeks (just in case the sample on Amazon isn’t enough for ya). Enjoy!


Ben sat down across from me, his sole focus upon me once again. I couldn’t imagine what he was thinking at that moment or what I could have done to warrant his constant attention. Maybe his gaze upon me had less than innocent intentions. If he was undressing me in his head, I was going to smack him.

The slight smile on Ben’s face widened immensely, something clearly amusing him that I wasn’t privy to. He leaned forward across the table, motioning for me to do the same. His voice was a deliberately loud whisper. “Your cheeks just turned completely red. What are you thinking over there?”

My fingers flew to the top of my forehead in a desperate attempt to block my face from his view. I squeezed my eyes shut, withdrawing to the safety of darkness behind my eyelids. Ben saw through me easily enough without the assistance of the telling expressions and colors of my face.

Soft hands grasped the inside of my palms and retracted them slowly from my face. My eyes reluctantly opened, a serious-looking Ben Miller staring at me from across the table. He continued to hold both my hands as he leaned in even closer, his voice dropping to a true whisper against my ear. “You don’t have to do that. There’s no need to hide.”

Purchase or borrow on Amazon:
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00EH4EPHE
Add to your TBR:
http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18309688-someone-to-listen

Leave a Reply

