NaNoWriMo… huh?

NaNoWriMo.

National Novel Writing Month.

My obsession for the last 23 days.

I was 22,000 words into writing my second book, Not Like This, when on October 31st I came upon mentions by other authors on Facebook of this little thing called NaNoWriMo, which happens to occur in the month of November every year.

There’s no denying I was both intrigued and terrified by the thought of trying to punch out 50,000 words of a novel in one month.

I completed that goal in fifteen days.

The goal of NaNoWriMo is to write, to leave the inner perfectionist and editor behind and just throw words onto the virtual page as quickly as possible and see what you come up with in the end. If you get to 50,000 words, great. If you don’t make it, you’ve done more than someone who didn’t even try. And there are tons of people trying. Hundreds of thousands of people according to nanowrimo.org.

I promised myself I’d take my time with my second novel, that I would balance my life and writing and actually get more than five hours of sleep a night. Instead I put my second novel on hold on November 1 and have cranked out almost 80,000 words so far on a new project with one week left to go of official NaNoWriMo time.

My debut novel, Someone to Listen, ended up at 98,000 words. It took three months to write and one month to edit, but I approached it very meticulously and carefully. Sentences were crafted to my perfection and I think there were only certain scenes that I really just let myself sit down and write freely without overthinking. After doing NaNoWriMo this year, I don’t think I’ll ever be able to write like that again.

Someday I will self-publish this NaNoWriMo obsession of mine. My inner psychic thinks this will be called the Ransom Series, a two-part romantic suspense story. Beyond Ransom is book one, which still needs work and additions but the bulk of the story was there around 67,000 words. Beyond Revenge is book two, which I will continue to write until the last day of November and beyond.

Thanks random authors who talked about NaNoWriMo on their Facebook pages and inspired me to do this.

Thanks NaNoWriMo for giving the world a reason to set a goal and write a novel.

Thanks coffee for making writing possible for me and so many other authors.

And thanks readers for getting this far in this post and for even considering picking up one of my books someday. You’re all absolute rock stars.

One thought on “NaNoWriMo… huh?

  1. […] NaNoWriMo… huh? (atdouglas.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

