NaNoWriMo wrap-up

Today I wrote the final words of the first draft of my NaNoWriMo novel turned two-part New Adult Romantic Suspense series: Beyond Ransom and Beyond Revenge (The Ransom Series).

Let’s go over the timeline of events that got me here, shall we?

October 31:
Browsed Facebook. Saw authors posting about this strange thing called NaNoWriMo. Signed up after slight hesitation.

November 1:
Put current WIP to the side at the 22,000-word mark to start brand new project. Goal: 50,000 words in the month of November. Started writing and didn’t look back (literally).

November 15:
Surpassed 50,000 words with half the month to go…

November 20:
Finished first draft of Beyond Ransom at 67,122 words. Immediately went into writing Beyond Revenge on the same manuscript.

November 30:
Ended NaNoWriMo at 100,090 words. I won NaNoWriMo twice I think?

December 1:
Regained some semblance of normal life outside of writing.

Today ~ December 18:
Finished first draft of Beyond Revenge at 134,928 words (67,806 words for book two).

So what happens next? Editing. Lots and lots of editing. It’s a ridiculously daunting task, but the beauty of it is I get to go back and experience my story come together for the first time. I’ll get to live through it just like you will when I self-publish these books next year.

And what’s even better for you? I’m going to attempt a majority of the editing on both books at the same time. My goal is to avoid making you wait months and months for the next book because I know how frustrating that can be as a reader.

I’ll do my best, folks.

If you’ve made it this far in my blog post, thanks for reading. I’m insanely excited to get these books into your hands. I hope you’ll join me on this next step in my journey as an indie author.

It’ll be a fun ride.

Leave a Reply

