So, what’s next?

I’m an indie author torn between three paths:

1. Continue to take a break from writing after 3+ intense months of writing/editing/self-publishing The Ransom Series.

2. Pick up my work in progress that stalled abruptly at 22,000 words when I decided on a whim to do NaNoWriMo last Halloween to write The Ransom Series.

3. Start a brand new work that I’ve been toying with in my head, something even further outside my comfort zone than The Ransom Series, but something that I’d love to try to write.

I don’t know how much longer I can do #1. I might go crazy soon. I think once you become an author, there’s no going back to normal everyday life without writing/editing, at least not for extended periods of time.

I read through my manuscript from #2 last night. It was fun to read. I missed my male lead who brings humor and lightness to a story that overall is meant to be less angsty and intense than anything else I’ve written up until this point.

The story idea from #3… that carrot dangling in front of me, daring me to try to grab for it and own it and create something that I didn’t think I could ever create. That option is there and teasing me, willing me to try to write this idea that I have a basis for but haven’t completely hashed out yet.

Decisions, decisions…

I feel like I’m waiting for my own story to be written, anxious for the author to decide the next course of events in my life and direct me down a certain path. I wish that author would make up their damn mind already or at least give me a clue what to do next.

I’m contemplating doing #2 and #3 at the same time. I used to think I couldn’t read other books while I was writing my own books, but I proved that wrong while writing The Ransom Series. Maybe I can work on writing two books at the same time. It may work to my advantage, as my existing work in progress in #2 could serve as the bouts of light I’ll need while writing the darkness into the story in #3.

So, what will happen next? Hopefully you and I will both know soon enough.

Leave a Reply

