Beyond Resistance, Part Three of The Ransom Series

You wanted it.

You got it.

I never intended to write another book in The Ransom Series. The story was to conclude in Beyond Revenge, and that was supposed to be it. Not every question was answered by the end of the book, but that was my intent. I wanted to leave the reader wondering just a little.

It wasn’t until I found two simple posts in a customer discussion on my Amazon author page practically begging for book three that I actually considered writing more to this story. I don’t know why, but seeing that kind of desperation for more – a feeling I understand all too well as an avid reader myself – made something click in my brain. Why not answer some of those outstanding questions? Why not treat the readers to more of this story they enjoyed reading as much as I enjoyed writing?

It didn’t take long for me to figure out where I wanted to go with this continuation of the story, though it may not be exactly what you’re expecting. Nailing down a title was a little more challenging, but thanks to difficulty sleeping due to this baby growing inside me (see previous blog post if you missed that news), I had a 2:30am epiphany and the title Beyond Resistance came to mind.

I’m over 18k words into writing this book that was never supposed to exist, and I’ll be the first to admit that this is an entirely different ballgame for me than my writing process for Beyond Ransom and Beyond Revenge. Staying up all hours of the night or waking up at the first sign of dawn to write before work is impossible with the level of fatigue and difficulty sleeping that continue to plague me from this pregnancy. Also, it never occurred to me how vital coffee and alcohol are to the writing process until I tackled writing without them. I miss my sources of liquid writing fuel.

What I’m trying to say is I don’t know when you’ll have Beyond Resistance ready to devour on your e-reading devices. I’m hoping for a Fall 2014 release, but I’m making no guarantees. It’ll take as long as it’s going to take, but I’ll get it in your hands eventually. Waiting is better than never getting it at all, right?

Leave a Reply

